Skip to main content


The Trust is delighted to announce the four books chosen for the Short List for the  Airey Neave Book Prize 2018.  The Neave Prize is awarded annually to the work of non-fiction which the Judging Panel considers to have made the most significant, original, relevant, and practically valuable contribution to the understanding of terrorism.

Last year’s prize was won by Ali Soufan’s superb ‘Anatomy of Terror’, and we were very encouraged by the range and quality of the twelve books that were selected for this year’s long list. After difficult deliberation, four titles have been selected for the 2018 shortlist. These will now be reviewed by independent judges Sir David Omand and Professor Mike Clarke, with the winner and runner up due to be announced in the RUSI Library on 27 November.

The short list, in alphabetical order, is:

Directorate S: The C.I.A. and America’s Secret Wars in Afghanistan and Pakistan, 2001–2016 by Steve Coll

Rise and Kill First: The Secret History of Israel’s Targeted Assassinations by Ronen Bergman

The Secret World: A History of Intelligence by Christopher Andrew

Unwinnable: Britain’s War in Afghanistan, 2001–2014 by Theo Farrell