Skip to main content


Baron Bew of Donegore

Lord Bew is a Northern Irish historian who has worked at Queen's University, Belfast since 1979 and is currently Professor of Irish Politics. He was appointed to the House of Lords as a Life Peer in February 2007 and sits as a crossbencher. Paul Bew took over as President of the Trust from Lord Mayhew in May 2012.

John Giffard CBE QPM DL BA

John joined Staffordshire Police in 1973 and progressed through the ranks to Divisional Commander first at Lichfield and, subsequently, at Cannock. In November 1991 he was appointed Assistant Chief Constable for North Yorkshire Police returning to Staffordshire in April 1996 as Chief Constable. From 2003 John served as ACPO 1st Vice President before retiring in 2006. He also chaired the ACPO Committee on General Policing which included national responsibility for Police Use of Firearms and Self Defence Arrest and Restraint. In addition John undertook the lead on Police pensions. Educated at Eton and Southampton University, John holds an Honours Degree in German with a certificate in Italian Studies. John was a Vice-President of PMAS from May 2000 to May 2006 and was elected to the Committee of Management as Deputy Chairman in October 2006 prior to his appointment as Chairman in May 2007. He is currently a Board member of Linguistica-Global Ltd.

Hugh Tilney

Vice Chairman
Hugh Tilney has been involved with the Trust since its inception. First, as Chairman of the Refugee Trust which was set up very shortly after Airey Neave’s assassination and then as a Trustee and Vice Chairman of the Trust. Hugh spent 28 years in the insurance industry before moving to live in New York where he now runs an investment management company. He has two married sons and four grandchildren all of whom live in England and who he and his wife visit regularly.

Michael Burton

Hon. Treasurer
Michael took over as Treasurer in March 2019 and is a Senior Investment Manager at JM Finn, having joined in 2012 from Investec/Williams de Broe. He has been a private client stockbroker for 25 years. Michael divides his time between London and Yorkshire, is a keen follower of the turf and amateur historian.

Sophie Butler


Michael Bottenheim

Master of Law, Leiden University, MBA, Michigan State University. Non-Executive Director and member of the advisory board of Montrose Associates. Formerly Director of UPM-Kymmene, Helsinki (2001-2009) and Senior Adviser, Lincoln International(2003-2014). Managing Director of Lazard Brothers & Co. Limited (1985-2000), Director of Citicorp, London and Zurich (1976-1985), and a former Member of the Supervisory Board of Abemy B.V. Netherlands.

The Hon. Patrick Neave

Patrick is Airey's eldest son and has spent his career in the City in commodities, investment banking and in trade associations. A Chartered Secretary and MBA, he is currently a school governor.

The Rt Hon the Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom

James was the Conservative MP for Wanstead & Woodford from 1987-1997 and then for North East Hampshire from 1997-2015. He served as Chairman of the Defence Select Committee from 2005 to 2014 before being nominated as a Life Peer in the Dissolution Peerages List 2015 of August 2015. Created Baron Arbuthnot of Edrom, of Edrom in the County of Berwick, on 1 October 2015, James sits on the Conservative benches in the House of Lords. He has four children and divides his time between London and Berkshire.

Sebastian Neave

Sebastian is Airey Neave's grandson and works as a Case Manager at Raedas - an investigations boutique providing specialist knowledge and a tailored approach in high-stakes international litigation and arbitration. Building on his background in business intelligence at Kroll Associates and PwC, Sebastian specialises in CIS related matters, particularly those with a strong political component.

Dame Mary Richardson DBE

Mary’s lifelong commitment has been to help break cycles of deprivation and to support projects for the young which provide opportunity and hope particularly to those who have little of either. Mary took her degree and PGCE at Liverpool University and then was commissioned into the Women’s Royal Army Corps. She later married, eventually became a Headteacher for 15 years and subsequently was the founding Chief Executive of HSBC’s Global Education Trust until 2008. She is committed to improving the life chances of looked after children and orphans globally and is President of SOS Children’s Villages. She believes that the cadet experience provides formative and exciting opportunities for young people. She is Vice President of the Marine Society and Sea Cadets and a trustee of both the Cadet Bursary Fund and the Cadet Health Check Group. She continues on a number of grant making trusts, is a trustee on several boards and a governor in three schools and a university. She holds several honorary doctorates and Fellowships and is a Founding Ambassador of Teach First. Mary was awarded a DBE in 1999 for services to education.

Sir Kevin Tebbit KCB CMG

Sir Kevin Tebbit worked for 36 years in public service, in defence, diplomacy and intelligence, latterly as Director of the Government’s Communications Headquarters (GCHQ) and as Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Defence. He is now Chairman of Finmeccanica UK, as Non-Executive Director of Smiths Group plc, and visiting Professor at Queen Mary, London University.

Sir David Veness CBE

David Veness served as Under-Secretary General of the UN Department of Safety and Security from its creation in 2005 until June 2009. This role carries responsibility for UN operations globally. Prior to this appointment, he was Assistant Commissioner (Specialist Operations) New Scotland Yard from 1994-2005.

Edward Webb

Edward is Airey's grandson and became a Trustee in 2016. He is the Chairman of Webbs Garden Centres Ltd.