Skip to main content


The 2018 Airey Neave Memorial Book Prize Statement of Requirement for Submissions.

The Airey Neave Trust is delighted to announce the 2018 Airey Neave Memorial Book Prize (the “Neave” Prize) which is very generously being sponsored by Pool Reinsurance Ltd, the Government backed terrorism reinsurance scheme.  This is the second year that the Neave Prize is being held.  Last year’s prize, awarded by Lord Evans of Weardale (former Director of MI5) was won by Ali Soufan for his Anatomy of Terror.
The Neave Prize will be awarded annually to the work of non-fiction which the Judging Panel considers to have made the most significant, original, relevant, and practically valuable contribution to the understanding of terrorism .  The Neave Prize will be awarded to a book published between 16 July 2017 and 13 July 2018. 
The first Prize will be awarded to the author[s] of a book published in the English language between 16 July 2017 and 13 July 2018, according to the following Terms and Conditions: • the author[s] or publisher of the book must submit a copy of the book, either hard copy or digital, to the Administrator of the Airey Neave Trust, in formal submission of the book for the Prize competition, and they must do so by 13 July 2018;
the book must contribute significantly to scholarly and/or other analytical understanding of counter-terrorism, the latter term interpreted as referring to the prevention or curbing of acts of terroristic violence;
the Panel of Judges will consist of Trustees of the ANT, supported by independent experts in the field of terrorism; a team judges being appointed by the ANT for each year's competition; 
the judges’ decision on the short-listing submissions and the winner(s) is final; 
no serving member of the ANT, or Judging Panel or Pool Re,  will be eligible to have one of their own books considered for the Prize;
an author can submit more than one book in the approved publication timeline; 
the book must have a UK publisher or distributor involved;
the submission can include books sponsored by the ANT; 
the Prize will amount to £5,000 for the winning book;
the short-list for the Prize will consist of four books and will be announced in October following the deadline for submissions;
the winner of the Prize will be announced in November 2018 at a formal ceremony in London thereafter. Those authors’ books which were short-listed will also be announced at this ceremony.  

Quote by John Giffard, Chairman of the Airey Neave Trust:
“The trustees were delighted with the interest shown in the inaugural Neave prize and the very high quality of books submitted for the 2017 prize.  Ali Soufan’s book was a masterpiece of making a complex subject highly readable and accessible.  The wide range of topics covered in last year’s competition demonstrated the very high quality of research and writing in the increasingly complex area of terrorism and all forms of extremism. The ANT is very grateful to Pool Re for its on-going sponsorship of the Neave Prize and we both agree unequivocally that the promotion of in-depth research and analysis on the complexities of the contemporary terrorism threats is vital in furthering our understanding of the subject matter.

Quote by Julian Enoizi CEO of Pool Re:
“Pool Re is proud to once again sponsor the Neave Book Prize. As the principal reinsurer of UK commercial property against terrorist attack we fully support initiatives, such as the Neave Prize, that drive counter-terrorism thought leadership and inform government and business strategies and plans that protect our assets, people and way of life.” 
Please send submissions, or if you have any questions, to the Airey Neave Trust Administrator at: or by post to The Airey Neave Trust, PO Box 111, Leominster HR6 6BP